So, as we have seen, oats, like other grasses, contains gluten. Unlike other cereals BASOKE, gluten proteins (prolamins) which are found in oats are not toxic to everyone that is celiac or gluten intolerant.
This is where the contradiction to the gluten-free oats comes in. It is important to note that Oat products on the market are still usually contaminated with wheat, barley and rye. Indeed, most farmers plant their cereal in rotation (one year he grows wheat, oats following year, the year after barley, etc.) to keep their soil fertile. However, it only takes one bad seed for much of this crop to become contaminated.
We must also take into account natural contamination, such as birds and rodents carrying seeds in these fields. In addition, the tools and the storage spaces can be a source of contamination.


It is possible that some companies register “wheat free oats”, however, this does not guarantee the lack of contamination of other cereals. Such steps are important for farmers in order not to exceed 20 ppm (20 parts per million). For my part, I think it will take a lot of time before they engage in this kind of project because it requires a lot of procedures.
Regular commercial oast are therefore not recommended. For cons, the pure and uncontaminated oats can be tolerated. Health Canada (2007) defines pure oats, uncontaminated as follows: pure, uncontaminated oats, to be collected, shipped, stored and manufactured according to the rules of good manufacturing practices to reduce the presence of wheat, including spelled and kamut, barley, rye and triticale, or other elements of these grains, so as not to exceed the threshold of 20 ppm.


The Québec Celiac Foundation and Health Canada suggest intolerant or celiac people who wish to introduce pure , uncontaminated oats in their diet to do so gradually and in small quantities. In addition, it is preferable to the introduction of the oats only 6 months to 1 year after the start of your gluten free diet.
Recommendation of the Québec Celiac Foundation :
Children: a maximum of 20 to 25 g per day ( 60 ml or ¼ cup)
Adults: a maximum of 50 to 70 g per day ( 125 to 175 ml or ½ to ¾ cup )

It is up to you if you want to introduce oats in your diet, but it is strongly advised to do so with caution and moderation because we are far from achieving completely gluten-free oats.


Here are some brands I suggest:
Castle Hill cream : it is possible to find their supplier and their quotes online.
Only Oats


Source :